Tasmanian Legislative Council elections 2019


Two Tasmanian Legislative Council seats are up for election on 1 August 2020

The seats of Rosevears and Huon are up for election.

Rosevears sitting member Kerry Finch is retiring in the seat, which takes in the West Tamar council area and Riverside, Trevallyn, West Launceston, Summerhill and most of Prospect.

Huon takes in the Huon Valley council area, Leslie Vale, Neika, Longley, Bruny Island and some of Blackmans Bay. Sitting member Robert Armstrong is re-contesting.

Safer Cycling Pledge

We want all candidates to support projects that will make it easier for people to ride their bikes for transport and recreation, no matter where their seat is. We asked all known candidates for the elections whether they would take the Safer Cycling Pledge.

Safer Cycling Pledge

If I am elected to the Legislative Council, I pledge to:

  • support the sealing of road shoulders on routes popular for cycling
  • support protected cycleways in urban centres
  • support programs which help people choose active transport options
  • support legislative changes which create safer conditions for vulnerable road users like bicycle riders.

Candidates who support the Safer Cycling Pledge

We have asked candidates if they support our Safer Cycling Pledge for bicycle riders and we’ll publish their comments here and whether or not they support the pledge.


  • Janie Finlay (Independent) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!
  • Vivienne Gale (Independent) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!
  • David Fry (Independent) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!

Jo Palmer (Liberal) Has not signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge. Jo pointed to the government doubling funding to the Vulnerable Road User Program to $1 million, which in the past has included small projects such as cycle signals, painted cycling lanes and other line marking. 

Jack Davenport (Greens)
Jess Greene (Labor)


Robert Armstrong (Independent) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!

Dr Bastian Seidel (Labor) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!

Pat Caruana (Greens) has signed on to the Safer Cycling Pledge!


Debbie Armstrong (Independent)
Garrick Cameron (Shooters, Fishers and Farmers)
Dean Harriss (Independent)



If better bike lanes, trails and facilities are important to you, then let the candidates for the Tasmanian Legislative Council elections know about it by writing to them, talking to them or engaging on social media. With stimulus funding up for grabs, it’s the perfect time for our elected representatives to support much more money going into safer cycling opportunities.

#TogetherWeCan make a difference. 

Contact your Legislative Council candidates

Let your candidates know what’s important to you as well as including one or more of the points in the Bicycle Network’s Safer Cycling Pledge

Click the link below for a list of candidates who have announced they are standing for election. Please let us know if anyone is missing from the list.


Share on social

Spread the word – share our #VoteBikeTAS election campaign with your friends and decision-makers on social.


Be insured every time you ride for just $11.49/month

…and help make our voice even stronger as we work to make it easier for more Tasmanians to ride. 

Join now

Bike riders commuting to work

Authorised by Alison Hetherington, 210 Collins Street, Hobart.